English Rugby League is currently split into 4 distinct sections, two of which focus on the amateur game and two of which focus on the professional game. The current professional game is split into two divisions, the wholly professional Rugby Super League, and the semi-professional Premiership. Both competitions are run under the umbrella organization of the Rugby Football League, and promotion and relegation operates between the two leagues. The amateur game is split between the British Amateur Rugby League Association (BARLA) and the more recent Summer Conference. The BARLA teams consist mostly of amateur clubs based in the northern heartlands of the English game, whereas the summer conference has a wider geographic spread across the United Kingdom. One competition that both BARLA clubs and the professional clubs share is the Rugby League Challenge Cup, where the teams can meet head to head in a knock out competition, along with a limited number of teams from the French competition. Plans are currently underway to bring all the competitions together under one governing body and playing with a common summer season -- the amateur clubs currently play their season through the winter which is now at odds with the professional games summer season.

Subcategories 3

Related categories 1

Brief History of the Santa Eulalia Sharks
English and Spanish rugby league web site.
Pennine Amateur Rugby League
For amateur open-age clubs in West, North and South Yorkshire, and the east of Lancashire. Includes fixtures, results, tables, news, and a directory of member clubs.
Rugby League Photo Agency
Thousands of photographs for webmasters, picture editors, clubs, and fans, plus screen savers and calendars.
St Helens Rugby League Referees Society
Includes information about taking up refereeing in Rugby League, as well as the local Junior and Open Age appointments for the North West Counties Leagues.
[Rugby League Mozilla]
Last update:
September 15, 2016 at 6:24:09 UTC
All Languages