Notable professionals in the field of Inorganic Chemistry.

Subcategories 2

Related categories 2

Ahmed H. Zewail
(1946 - ) 1999 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his studies of the transition states of chemical reactions using femtosecond spectroscopy. Egypt and USA, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, USA.
Alfred Werner
(1866-1919) Suggested that all ligand molecules are bound directly to the metal ion, contrary to existing bonding theory. Werner was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1913. Switzerland, Zurich University, Zurich, Switzerland.
Antoine Henri Becquerel
(1852-1908) Nobel for the discovery of radioactivity in 1896, shared with Pierre Curie and Marie Curie. France, École Polytechnique, Paris, France.
Bo Wang
Inorganic chemist at UCLA, involved in the design and synthesis of new types of porous materials, MOFs and ZIFs, which could be used in hydrogen storage, gas separation and drug delivery. Research, publications and resume.
Chemistry 1960
(1908 - 1980) 1960 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his method to use carbon-14 for age determination in archaeology, geology, geophysics, and other branches of science. USA, University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA.
Ernest Rutherford
(1871-1937) Formulated an atomic model, according to which the positively charged atomic nucleus carries most of the mass of the atom but occupies a very small part of its volume. Victoria University, Manchester, Great Britain.
Frederick Soddy
(1877-1956) 1921 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his contributions to our knowledge of the chemistry of radioactive substances, and his investigations into the origin and nature of isotopes. Great Britain, Oxford University, Oxford, Great Britain.
Fritz Haber
(1868-1934) Nobel prize of 1918 "for the synthesis of ammonia from its elements", i.e., from nitrogen and hydrogen. Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institut (now Fritz-Haber-Institut) für physikalische Chemie und Electrochemie Berlin-Dahlem, Germany.
Frédéric Joliot
(1900 - 1958) Discovered artificial radioactivity, i.e., new radioactive elements produced by the bombardment of non-radioactive elements with particles or neutrons. Prize shared with his wife Irène Joliot-Curie. France, Institut du Radium, Paris, France.
George de Hevesy
(1885 - 1966) 1943 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his work on the use of isotopes as tracers in the study of chemical processes. Hungary, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden.
Glenn Theodore Seaborg
(1912 - 1999) 1951 Nobel Prize in Chemistry joint discovery in the chemistry of the transuranium elements with Edwin Mattison McMillan. USA, University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA.
Harold Clayton Urey
(1893 - 1981) 1934 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his discovery of heavy hydrogen. USA, Columbia University New York, NY, USA.
Linus Carl Pauling
(1901 - 1994) 1954 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his research into the nature of the chemical bond and its application to the elucidation of the structure of complex substances. USA. California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, USA.
Marie Curie
(1867-1934) 1911 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the discovery of the elements radium and polonium, by the isolation of radium and the study of the nature and compounds of radium. First person to win two nobel prizes. France, Sorbonne University, Paris, France.
Marie Sircoglou
Assistant Professor in inorganic and coordination chemistry, specializing in synthetic photosynthesis. Biography and research based in Orsay, France. [bilingual]
Niels Henrik David Bohr
(1885-1962) Bohr formulated in 1913 an alternative atomic model, in which only certain circular orbits of the electrons are allowed. In this model light is emitted (or absorbed), when an electron makes a transition from one orbit to another. Bohr received the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1922 for his work on the structure of atoms.
Otto Hahn
(1879 - 1968) 1944 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his discovery of the fission of heavy nuclei. Germany, Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institut (now Max-Planck Institut) für Chemie, Berlin, Germany
Prof. Omar M. Yaghi
(1965 - )Professor of Chemistry at University of California-Los Angeles. Founder of a new branch of chemistry (reticular chemistry) and involved in the design and production of new classes of crystals, MOFs, ZIFs and COFs.
Sir Joseph John Thomson
(1856-1940) Discovery of the electron, for which he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1906. Cambridge University, Cambridge, Great Britain.
[Mozilla with Sparkler]
Last update:
September 15, 2016 at 15:21:44 UTC
All Languages