Yugoslavia was first formed as a kingdom in 1918. It was a monarchy formed as the "Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes" after World War I. The six countries that were once part of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia are Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Slovenia. It fell during World War II. It was recreated as a Socialist state in 1945 after World War II. It disintegrated in the Yugoslav Wars during the 1990s. The Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was created in 1992. It was a federation on the territory of the republics of Serbia (including the autonomous provinces of Vojvodina, Kosovo and Metohija) and Montenegro. It was reformed as The Union of Serbia and Montenegro on February 4, 2003. This was a weaker union of the nations. In 2006 Serbia and Montenegro each declared their independence from the union. Yugoslavia no longer exists.

Related categories 1

US Library of Congress - Country Study: Yugoslavia (Former)
[ Teens/Mature Teens ] Country profile provides information about its historical setting, society and environment, economy, government and politics, and national security.
BBC News: Timeline: Break-up of Yugoslavia
[ Kids/Teens/Mature Teens ] A brief history of the dramatic and violent changes that took place as the Yugoslav Federation disintegrated during the 1990s. (May 22, 2006)
[Book Mozilla]
Last update:
March 30, 2009 at 14:19:31 UTC
School Time
Sports and Hobbies
Teen Life
Your Family
All Languages
People and Society